Home » Art » Literature » Cindexing

Cindexing

archives

categories

RSS tumblr

  • The Lover is Absent 6 April, 2017
    The Lover is Absentnew from above/ground press: The Lover is Absent, by Jessica Smith The Lover is Absent Jessica Smith $5 published in Ottawa by above/ground press April 2017 a/g subscribers receive a complimentary copy Jessica Smith, Founding Editor of Foursquare and name magazines and Coven Press, serves as the Librarian for Indian Springs School, where s […]

One of the more useful courses I’m taking this semester is Indexing and Surrogation.  I haven’t taken Cataloging yet (it’s next semester) but I like dealing with metadata and just thinking about metadata (I also like saying the word “metadada” to myself and thinking about Tristan Tzara).  When I did my MA in Comparative Literature, I did it in the Comparative Literature Department here at SUNY Buffalo.  Like many Comparative Literature departments, it is more of a continental philosophy department than a literature department.  Literature is only one of the possible media to consider after learning theory.  The Department heavily prioritizes post-structuralist thought.  I like discussing metadata because the discussions are informed by post-structuralism, although I have yet to hear the term itself mentioned in any of my classes.

Anyway, today I used CINDEX to create an index for Indexing class.  I was skeptical at first as to why I needed to use CINDEX when it isn’t that difficult to index in a Word document, but I was quickly convinced that CINDEX is awesome.  It does all the formatting, cross-referencing and alphabetizing for you.  I’m sure it has even more advanced features but I was using it for a pretty basic index.  I recommend it.

Leave a Reply

