Home » Uncategorized » The Tower of Dreams

The Tower of Dreams

archives

categories

RSS tumblr

  • Miami University MFA 30 July, 2017
    I have joined the low-residency MFA program at Miami University, where Hoa Nguyen and Laura Van Prooyen are the poetry mentors.  These poets join the experimental-minded poetry faculty in Miami’s residential MFA program, Keith Tuma, Cathy Wagner, and cris cheek for an intimate poetics program well-versed in the history of experimental poetry and performance. […]

19657099_10104126078088388_3503129788848376810_n

In August, I will be retooling to begin a job in public k-5 education. I have been working in private 8-12 education. Both schools are in Alabama, but one is highly privileged, mostly white, suburban, and college prep, while the other is set in an urban location that is socioeconomically less advantaged, entirely African-American, and its students are behind in reading. It will be a big shift, but I’m looking forward to it. Because public education is unionized, I will be paid better and receive better benefits. The library is clearly important to my new school, where it was chronically undervalued at my old school, despite the massive overhaul of materials we achieved over the past 6 years. My new colleagues and boss seem happy with their work environment, organized, and determined. When I interviewed, I didn’t get a chance to see the library, and I feared that it wouldn’t be as nice as the beautiful building I attended at my last school, but when I saw it for the first time I was breathless: The main room would make any public children’s section envious, and there is a reading room called the “Tower of Dreams” with colored windows, a 2-story ceiling, and stadium seating. When the sunlight comes through the windows, it has the awesome feeling that a church does. As with my old library, the library is in the center of the school– the “Tower of Dreams” is the architectural middle of the school.

Special thanks to my former intern, Beth Dobson (MLIS UA), who spent a weekend of her life prepping me for elementary librarianship, and to my references for helping me land this great new opportunity.

Leave a Reply

